Australian Open Final

Australian Open Final 2019: History will be made as Rafael Nadal and Novak Djokovic aim for records when they meet in the Australian Open final on Sunday. Naomi Osaka and Petra Kvitova meet in the Australian Open final with a championship and the No. 1 ranking at stake.

>>Watch Australian Open 2019 Live<<

Australian Open 2019: It’s a must-see Australian Open men’s final when top-seeded Novak Djokovic plays Rafael Nadal on Sunday at Melbourne Park. The match begins at 3:30 a.m. ET (7:30 p.m. Sunday local time). Djokovic is gunning for his third straight major championship and a record-breaking seventh Australian Open title.

From the opening point of the match, Novak Djokovic let first-time Grand Slam semifinalist Lucas Pouille of France know he didn’t stand a chance of reaching Sunday’s Australian Open final.

The top-seeded Djokovic started the first-time encounter against Pouille with an ace and never let down in taking a 6-0, 6-2, 6-2 semifinal win.

Djokovic had never played the 28th-seeded Pouille before, and said he had to do “extra homework and research on his game, on his patterns.”

“Obviously speak to some of the players that played him before. Just get out there, try to focus on execution of the game plan. Obviously today was a perfect match for me from the first to the last point,” he added. “I executed everything that I intended to and even more than I have expected.”

The semifinal neatly recorded, Djokovic set up a 53rd career duel with second-seeded Rafael Nadal in the final. Djokovic holds a 27-25 lead against the Spaniard. He also won the title in a five-set classic that went 5 hours, 53-minutes the only time the two played at the Australian Open, which was back in 2012.

“First of all I would definitely want to buy a ticket to that match,” said Djokovic, remembering that encounter with Nadal. “That was a once-in-the-lifetime experience for me. Hopefully the outcome will be the same for me.”

Nadal earned his passage into the final by posting an equally brilliant 6-2, 6-4, 6-0 victory over 14th-seeded Stefanos Tsitsipas on Thursday night.

Djokovic, a six-time Australian Open champion who has won the trophy every time he’s appeared in the final, will now be looking to become the only man to win the tournament seven times. Roy Emerson and Roger Federer are currently tied with Djokovic at six titles each.

Overall, Djokovic is a 14-time Grand Slam champion, which finds him just behind Federer’s 20 and Nadal’s 17 major singles trophies.

A year ago, Djokovic left the Australian Open disappointed with a fourth-round defeat and soon thereafter underwent right elbow surgery. At that time he hadn’t won a Grand Slam title since the 2016 French Open.

Finally regaining his health, Djokovic will be vying for his third consecutive Grand Slam trophy having won Wimbledon and the US Open last year.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *